BREAKING NEWS: NIGERIAN ARMY RELEASES SOME OF THE PERSONS CAUGHT PRODUCING ILLEGAL WEAPONS IN ONICHA- OLONA DELTA STATE TO SENATOR NED NWOKO BASED ON SELF RECOGNITION

The Senator representing Delta North Senatorial District, Senator Ned Nwoko visited the 63 Brigade of Nigeria Army in Asaba over the illegal arms manufacturers arrested and detained.

Recall: The 63 Brigade of the Nigeria Army under the command of Brigadier General Ugochukwu Unachukwu had uncovered an illegal gun factory in the Onicha Olona community, Aniocha North Local Government Area of Delta State and arrested eight persons.

According to Senator Ned Nwoko:
“They were arrested and detained because what they were doing was illegal and they were not authorized or licensed to do what they were doing.

But all the same they were part of my constituency. I don’t know them and nobody spoke to me about them but as a Senator, I have to help anybody from my constituency and Nigeria that is in trouble.

I took up the matter because I feel for them. I believe that Nigeria is not growing as a nation. Politically, it may be yes but technologically we are not growing. Virtually everything that we have is imported. The phones in your hands, necklace and even your wrist watches are imported.

As a member of the senate committee, I know of a DICON (Defence Industries Corporation of Nigeria) established in 1964 to manufacture arms and help us to grow local arms manufacturing industries. But they have never succeeded for so many reasons.

Now, when I read the story from my feedback platform that this family at Onicha Olona were arrested because of manufacturing of local arms illegally, including making landmines, drones and being able to increase the rounds of Ak47 from 30 to 60 or thereabout.

I think this kind of family should be integrated into the system.
If I were to be a president, such a family and many others like them in Nigeria should be brought together with a plan of action. One is to engage them formerly. Two is to get them to produce what they know how to produce. Three, they will produce for Nigeria, Nigeria Military, Nigeria Police and possibly begin to export to other countries in West Africa.
It was family like this in Britain, who began to manufacture things on their own were promoted and before you know it they will begin to produce quality things. Initially, they may not be able to produce things they can support but with time and sufficient regulation, they will create a lot of employment and generate revenues for others.

So, I had a meeting with the Commander of the Brigade and was very happy with what they told me why they were arrested and after the meeting, the team and his people agreed to release some of them to me and which they did. Some of them are still in the custody but I will take that up in Abuja and I can assure you that at the end of the day I look forward to those guys release again by the government to do those things we don’t have the capacity to do.”

Leave a Comment